Alumni Awards

Celebrating the achievements of our Alumni

Many individuals and families have made outstanding contributions to the welfare and future of the College through their voluntary support and participation in college life during and often beyond their sons’ schooling.

Newington Medal

An initiative of the College Council, the Newington Medal was first awarded in December 2006 and is the most prestigious Award the College can bestow on an Old Boy. Meritorious and commendable achievement is assessed on the:

  • Recipient’s contribution to his nominated field of endeavour
  • Extent to which the recipient’s contribution has benefited the community
  • Benefit derived by Newington through the recipient’s contribution to the life and future of the College

The Newington Medal recognises Old Boys whose services and contributions have made a significant difference to the welfare and future of the College and to the quality of life of Australians or to humanity in other countries around the world. By awarding the Newington Medal the College aims to:

  • Acknowledge Old Boys who have sustained the College’s vision through their post-school achievements
  • Encourage greater association by Old Boys in the life, values and history of the College
  • Identify Old Boys who are exceptional role models for current students

Medal Criteria, Nominations and Recipients

Recent Recipients










  • National — Professor John Turtle (ON 1953)
  • International — Sir Peter Barter (ON 1955)


  • National — Dr Roger Davidson (ON 1940)
  • National — Maj-Gen Sandy Pearson (ON 1936)
  • International — Mr David Johnson (ON 1950)


  • National – Sir Keith Jones 1924-1927 (ON 1927)
  • International – Not Awarded


  • International – Mr Owen Howell-Price (ON 1944)
  • National – Mr Don Dwyer (ON 1949)

If you would like further information in relation to the Newington Medal, please contact the Community and Development Office or telephone (02) 9568 9374.

Show More

ONU Centennial Trust

The Trust recognises and financially rewards Old Newingtonians who have excelled in their chosen field and who contribute in a meaningful way to the community. The Trust awards funds in the order of $10,000 – $20,000 in any one year to up to four recipients so they may undertake study or research. To be eligible, applicants must have completed at least one year of Senior School at Newington College. There is no age restriction although preference is given to applicants under 40 years of age.

Who can apply?

To be eligible, applicants must have completed at least one year of Senior School at Newington College. There is no age restriction although preference is given to applicants under 40 years of age.

How do I apply?

Applicants must complete and submit an ONU Centennial Trust Application Form by the end of June. You can apply online below.

Applicants are advised to consult the ONU Centennial Trust Brochure for Applicants. The ONU Centennial Trust Information Memorandum further outlines the objectives of the Trust.

For a full list of ONU Centennial Trust recipients

Past Recipients

Apply Online

ONU Centennial Trust Online Application

  • Upload your signed application form.
  • Upload a statement no greater than three A4 pages in length to support your application. This material should present a logical case to convince the reader that the candidate is worthy of consideration by providing verifiable background information.
  • Drop files here or
    Arrange for three referees to each prepare a reference of no more than one A4 page in length, in support of your application. The referees should have some knowledge of your general character as well as your aptitude in the field of endeavour which forms the basis of your application.
  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf.
    You can include copies of awards, certificates etc. Please convert to PDF.
    Check your application is complete. Have you supplied the above items ?


Show More

2016 Recipient

Dr Thomas Patterson (ON 2009)

2016 Recipient

John Keene (ON 2014)

2015 Recipient

James Henderson (ON 2008)

2015 Recipient

Edmond Cheng (ON 2013)